Williams Wins Race One After Baird Penalised

Press Release – NZV8 Touring Cars

Williams Wins Race One After Baird Penalised

Auckland driver Kevin WIlliams won the opening race at Pukekohe Park Raceway today in the NZV8 Touring Cars TL Championship when Australia based Craig Baird copped a 10 second penalty for a false start.

Williams had qualified on pole with Baird beside him on the front row of the grid but it was Baird who led from the start taking the TKR Holden all the way to the chequered flag only to have the penalty applied.

Baird was then placed behind Williams who held on tight throughout the race finishing close enough behind the Team Kiwi Driver to claim the race win.

“Once I heard that (there was a penalty), I knew I just had to hold on to him and finish the race close enough behind.” said Williams.

The two Holden drivers have now won two races each and share the top of the championship table both with 284 points after four races.

Taking third place in the TL category was Wellington driver Brock Cooley ahead of Aucklander Brad Lathrope and Hamilton’s Steve Taylor all three drivers in Fords.

In the NZV8 Touring Cars TLX class it was Australia’s Jason Bargwanna who claimed pole in the morning’s session and capitalised his front row start to run away with the race ahead of defending champion Nick Ross from Cambridge.

Never looking back Bargwanna led from start to finish and was never really challenged claiming not only the win but a new lap record of 1.06.297.

Bargwanna tops the chart after four races with three wins and leads by 16 points over Ross.

Hamilton driver Ian Booth claimed third spot over Lance Hughes also from Hamilton but with a dnf at the opening round has some catching up to do and is trailing third placed Hughes by 54 on the points table.

New driver from the Gold Coast Scott Taylor placed fifth today in his debut race in the NZV8 Touring Cars TLX.

Top contender James McLaughlin from Lower Hutt experienced engine issues today which forced him out of the first race today but expects to be ready for action tomorrow.

The racing continues with further V8 powered excitement tomorrow with race two at 11.45am and race three at 4.10pm.

Race One

1 Jason Bargwanna Toyota TLX
2 Nick Ross Nissan TLX
3 Ian Booth Holden TLX
4 Lance Hughes Holden TLX
5 Kevin Williams Holden TL
6 Scott Taylor Toyota TLX
7 Craig Baird Holden TL
8 Brock Cooley Ford TL
9 Brad Lathrope Ford TL
10 Steve Taylor Ford TL
11 Brendan Murphy Holden TL
12 Nathan Pilcher Holden TL

NZV8 Touring Cars Schedule – Pukekohe Park Raceway
11:45 Race 12 NZV8 Touring Cars Race Two 14 Laps
16:10 Race 19 NZV8 Touring Cars Race Three 20 Laps

Championship Standings (after four races – unofficial)
Jason Bargwanna Toyota Camry TLX 217+75= 292
Nick Ross Nissan Altima TLX 209+67= 276
Lance Hughes Holden Commodore TLX 174+54= 228
Ian Booth Holden Commodore TLX 114+60= 174
Scott Taylor Toyota Camry TLX 0+49= 49
Craig Baird Holden Commodore TL 217+67= 284
Kevin WIlliams Holden Commodore TL 209+75= 284
Steve Taylor Ford Falcon TL 143+49= 192
Brad Lathrope Ford Falcon TL 138+54= 192
James McLaughlin Holden Commodore TL 174+0= 174
Nathan Pilcher Holden Commodore TL 129+42= 171
Brendan Murphy Holden Commodore TL 117+45= 162
Brock Cooley Ford Falcon TL 90+60= 150
Andrew Anderson Holden Commodore TL 114+0= 114

NZV8 Touring Cars Schedule
November 1-2 Hampton Downs (completed)
November 29-30 Pukekohe Park Raceway
January 17-18 Ruapuna Raceway
January 24-25 Teretonga Park
February 14-15 Manfeild Park
April (tba) Pukekohe Park Raceway


Content Sourced from scoop.co.nz
Original url