Auckland Scoop

Disciplinary and Disputes Committee of the Maori Party

Press Release – The Maori Party

Maori Party President, Pem Bird, has released the names of the members comprising the Disciplinary and Disputes Committee of the Maori Party. The Disciplinary and Disputes Committee will meet on Wednesday 9 February 2011 to consider a complaint …

Disciplinary and Disputes Committee of the Maori Party

Sunday 30 January 2011; Pem Bird; President of the Maori Party

Maori Party President, Pem Bird, has released the names of the members comprising the Disciplinary and Disputes Committee of the Maori Party.

The Disciplinary and Disputes Committee will meet on Wednesday 9 February 2011 to consider a complaint made against Maori Party MP Hone Harawira, by Maori Party whip, Te Ururoa Flavell. This hui, will be preceded by a confidential kanohi-ki-te-kanohi meeting on 1 February.

The Disciplinary and Disputes Committee is chaired by Maori Party co-vice president, Te Orohi Paul, and is comprised of five members: Donna Gardiner, Matiu Dickson; Gordon Paku and Ken Mair (brief pen-portraits attached).

“Between this group of five we are confident that the process the Committee must undertake will be done so with the greatest impartiality and the utmost respect for process” said Mr Bird.

“The membership includes a wide diversity of tribal wisdom, and expertise across the education; health; social services, and the justice sector.

“There is also a very strong level of knowledge about community development, with experience across whanau, hapu and iwi a common feature in the backgrounds of each of the five members of the committee”.

“And as to be expected, there is particular and impressive expertise in the committee membership in matters of legal proficiency; dispute resolution and cultural competency”.

“All of these skills are both essential in working within the tikanga framework of the Maori Party constitution; and will be vital in the disputes process”.

“Four of the members have been key figures in both National Council representation, and in electorate management positions (specifically in Ikaroa Rawhiti; Tamaki Makaurau; Te Tai Hauauru and Waiariki) since the foundation of the Maori Party in 2004, and the fifth member, Matiu Dickson, brings in an external independence to the committee”.

“All parties look forward to a swift and effective resolution of the issues, based on the kaupapa of the Maori Party” said Mr Bird. “The quality of the membership of the Disciplinary and Disputes Committee gives me great confidence that the process will be able to seek resolution of the matters”.

Pen Profiles : Disciplinary and Disputes Committee – Maori Party

Te Orohi Paul (Ngati Awa me Ngati Tuwharetoa ki Kawerau). [Diploma and Bachelor of Maori Studies]. Te Orohi is a Consultant Management Auditor and has worked in the health sector since 1989. In particular she has made a significant contribution to cultural treatment models and more recently in auditing organisations seeking to improve the quality of their service delivery. Te Orohi is co vice president of the Maori Party.

Lindsay Gordon Paku (Ngati Kahungunu). QSM. Gordon has been involved with youth and Māori in the Hastings community for some thirty years. He established the Heretaunga Māori Executive Whanau Services and has been the coordinator of the service since 1990. Mr Paku was active with the Takitimu District Māori Council and the Ruahapia Māori Committee, with whom he helped to build Ruahapia Marae. In 2009 he was awarded the QSM for services to Maori and Maori youth. In September 2010 Gordon was awarded the Malaysia Service Medal (Pingat Jasa Malaysia). The award was given for distinguished service between 1957 and 1963 during the Emergency and Confrontation with Indonesia. Gordon is Chairperson of the Ikaroa Rawhiti Electorate.

Donna Ngaronoa Gardiner (Ngati Ranginui, Ngai-te-Rangi) (BA, MED, Dip Indigenous Diplomacy) is a Project Officer for Nga Pae o te Maramatanga (National Institute of Research Excellence for Maori Development and Advancement.) Ms Gardiner has been involved for the past eight years in Māori education, initially as outpost manager for Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi, and more recently as Programme Leader, undergraduate programmes, for Te Ara Poutama, at the Auckland University of Technology. Donna has extensive experience in whanau development, hapū, iwi and indigenous networking and research, and a background in community development and the public service. Donna is co-Chairperson of the Tamaki Makaurau electorate.

Ken Mair (Nga Rauru; Ngati Raukawa; Ngati Apa, Nga Wairiki; Tuwharetoa; Whanganui) [Diploma in Industrial Relations] has been a political activist, legal advocate and iwi spokesperson for a wide range of key events in Maoridom. Mr Mair is now a Board member of the Moutoa Gardens Historic Reserve Board and co Vice-president of the Maori Party. Ken’s professional experience and expertise is in conflict resolution and dispute management in employment related negotiations.

Matiu Dickson (Ngaiterangi) BA LLB DipTch Auck LLM Waikato is a Senior Lecturer in Te Piringa, the School of Law at Waikato University. After a number of years teaching at all levels, he has been a barrister and solicitor in private practice. He is a past Tauranga District Councillor, chairing the Planning and Environment Committee. His special interests are legal education, youth advocacy and the criminal system, resource management and local government law, and Maori legal issues.


Content Sourced from
Original url