New Zealand Secondary Schools Squad Named

Press Release – Netball New Zealand

20 February, 2019

A squad of 22 players has been named by Netball New Zealand from which the 2019 New Zealand Secondary Schools (NZSS) team will be chosen.

The Emerging Talent Selection Panel, including Adrienne Morrin, Charissa Barham, Paula Smith and Jen Hooper, has confirmed the squad which was selected from a number of NZ age-group tournaments and camps.

A NZSS team will be selected from the squad by the end of April.

NZSS Head coach and panel member Charissa Barham said selectors had assessed performances at last month’s National Development Camp, the ANZ Premiership pre-season tournament in Ōtaki along with various secondary school tournaments last year.

“It has been a thorough process and we have had the opportunity to look at a number of players,” she said.

“There are some athletes who were involved with the NZSS team last year and plenty of new faces who are pushing hard for selection this year.”

The squad includes six members from last year’s NZSS team which competed in Australia.

Barham said selectors would continue to monitor those involved in the Beko Netball League and ANZ Premiership whilst also viewing footage from the 2019 National Development Camp.

2019 New Zealand Secondary Schools Squad:

Name School 2018 Zone 2018
Grace Nweke Avondale College Northern
Leehava Saverio Howick College Northern
Saviour Tui St Marys College Central
Rochelle Fourie Manukura Central
Vika Koloto Baradene College Northern
Jasleen Singh St Kentigern College Northern
Khiarna Williams Trident High School Waikato Bay of Plenty
Dannielle Dephoff Bay of Islands College Northern
Quantelle Hira-Kapua Hillmorton High School Mainland
Kataraina Ormsby St Peter’s Cambridge Waikato Bay of Plenty
Latonya Lole Mt Albert Grammar Northern
Kylie McGahan Westlake Girls High School Northern
Brody Manson Manukura Central
Jaymie Kolose St Kentigern College Northern
Nanise Waqaira Howick College Northern
Olivia Burnham Villa Maria College Mainland
Paris Lokotui Queen Margaret College Central
Parris Mason New Plymouth High School Central
Taneisha Fifita Waitaki Girls’ High School South
Julia Wynands Villa Maria College Mainland
Lisa Putt St Kentigern College Northern
Jessie Taylor Whangarei Girls High School Northern

Content Sourced from
Original url