2019 National Development Camp athletes named

Press Release – Netball NZ

Netball New Zealand has invited 50 athletes from around the country to take part in January’s 2019 National Development Camp.

The group – which was selected, based upon performances at National Age Group Championships, Regional Secondary Schools and NZSS Championships and in conjunction with Zone led talent identification programmes – will be split into five teams to attend the three-day camp in Cambridge.

NNZ Chief Executive Jennie Wyllie said the National Development Camp was an opportunity for prospective talent to display their ability and netball skills.

“We want to extend and inspire our development players and see how they operate in a challenging performance environment,” she said.

“The camp is essential as we continually look to improve the athletes progressing into the Netball New Zealand pathway.”

Players will undergo a series of movement competency screenings with fitness tests to be submitted prior to the camp.

A competitive short-tournament structure will be held during the three days where the players’ ability to thrive under pressure will be observed.

The five teams will be led by coaching experts including New Zealand’s Pathway to Podium (P2P) specialist coaches – Jodi Brown, Irene van Dyk, Sandra Edge, Rebecca Gable and Anna Galvan.

P2P head coach Yvette McCausland-Durie and Tania Karauria will also provide support to these coaches in the build-up to the camp which runs from January 18-21.

The National Development Camp invitation list:

Name School Zone
Saviour Tui St Marys College Wellington Central
Madison Awahou Manukura Central
Rochelle Fourie Manukura Central
Liana Mikaele-Tuu Hastings Girls High School Central
Lyric Paewai Manukura Central
Maddie Feauanati St Marys College Wellington Central
Sharnay Leef Wellington East Girls College Central
Tesara-Rose Faleafaga St Marys College Wellington Central
Danae Abolins-Thompson Onslow College Central
Paris Lokotui Queen Margaret College Central
Isla Vink New Plymouth Girls High School Central
Parris Mason New Plymouth Girls High School Central
Rachel Albiston Samuel Marsden Collegiate School Central
Khiarna Williams Trident High School Waikato BOP
Hylan Potts Hamilton Girls High School Waikato BOP
Kataraina Ormsby St Peters School Cambridge Waikato BOP
Lina Pale St Margarets College Mainland
Olivia Wilkie Rangiora High School Mainland
Fiapalagi Lai Kong Middleton Grange School Mainland
Olivia Burnham Villa Maria College Mainland
Julia Wynands Villa Maria College Mainland
Jess Milne Timaru Girls High School Mainland
Quantelle Hira-Kapua Hillmorton High School Mainland
Samara Northmore Villa Maria College Mainland
Taneisha Fifita Waitaki Girls High School South
Kaya Laban South Otago High School South
Kate Hartley Southland Girls High School South
Meg Sycamore Columba College South
Vika Koloto Baradene College Northern
Leehava Saverio Howick College Northern
Violet Toto Howick College Northern
Sharon Tiumalu McAuley High School Northern
Grace Nweke Avondale College Northern
Anna Millar Epsom Girls Grammar School Northern
Jasleen Singh Saint Kentigern College Northern
Nanise Waqaira Howick College Northern
Lisa Putt Saint Kentigern College Northern
Katie Te Ao One Tree Hill College Northern
Jessie Taylor Whangarei Girls High School Northern
Genesis Heta One Tree Hill College Northern
Aaliyah Rooney Mt Albert Grammar Northern
Ruby Sussock St Cuthberts College Northern
Ana Manuopongai Epsom Girls Grammar School Northern
Francesca Tua McAuley High School Northern
Danielle Dephoff Bay of Islands College Northern
Jaymie Kolose Saint Kentigern College Northern
Cecile Veighe Saint Kentigern College Northern
Sila Matuatia St Dominic’s College Northern
Kylie McGahan Westlake Girls High School Northern
Latonya Lole Mt Albert Grammar Northern

Content Sourced from scoop.co.nz
Original url