Violin Superstar Viktoria Mullova in New Zealand 2019

Press Release – Chamber Music New Zealand

In a coup for New Zealand one of the biggest names in music, Viktoria Mullova is coming to New Zealand for the 2019 Chamber Music New Zealand International Season.

Violinist Viktoria Mullova is music royalty. One of the world’s great violin virtuosos, her interpretations of Bach have been acclaimed worldwide: “To hear Mullova play Bach is, simply, one of the greatest things you can experience” – The Guardian.

Born in Russia, Mullova attended Moscow Conservatory and her extraordinary talent captured the attention of the world’s leading conductors and orchestras. She famously defected from the Soviet Union during a tour in Finland in 1983, hiding in a safehouse under a false name. She has performed as a soloist with all major orchestras including The Concertgebouw, The Philharmonia and The Berlin Philharmoniker, San Francisco Symphony and Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra. She has also appeared as a soloist and director of The Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment. Her recordings have reached world-wide acclaim, spanning the range of different music with incredible versatility; playing the masterworks of Bach through to innovative interpretations of Miles Davis and Duke Ellington. Her most recent release Stradivarius in Rio played music from Brazil.

Viktoria Mullova will be performing with cellist Matthew Barley, and New Zealand pianist Stephen De Pledge in a concert of Schubert and Ravel, and a NZ commission by Selina Fisher.
“Mullova may be the moste elegant, refined and sweetly expressive violinist on the planet.” – Chicago Tribune

Link to Viktoria Mullova’s Website

Askonas Holt page for Viktoria Mullova



Sat 14 Sep at 7.30

Sun 15 Sep at 5pm

Mon 16 Sep 7.30
Programme: Cornerstones

Viktoria Mullova Violin
Matthew Barley Cello
Stephen De Pledge Piano

Schubert Piano Trio No.2 in E-flat Major, D.929
Salina Fisher New Work for Cello and Piano [CMNZ Commission]
Ravel Piano Trio in A Minor


Content Sourced from
Original url