Finalists For Next Magazine 2018 Woman Of The Year

Press Release – Bauer Media



Next Magazine Announces Finalists For 2018 Woman Of The Year Awards
Courage, vision and determination all define the finalists for the 2018 Elizabeth Arden and NEXT Woman of the Year Awards, in association with Elizabeth Arden.

From well-known figures to those working under the radar, these 30 exceptional Kiwi women are achievers making the world a better place in their chosen field.

Familiar names in this year’s list of finalists include Black Ferns Sevens captain Sarah Goss, Auckland Writers Festival director Anne O’Brien, Loveblock Wines and Kim Crawford Wines co-founder Erica Crawford and White Ferns player Sophie Devine.

Other finalists include Rez Gardi, born in a refugee camp and now empowering other young refugees to achieve their dreams, Verna McFelin, whose charity helps the children of those in prison, and Dr Ann Brower, the sole survivor of a bus crushed by a falling building during the 2011 Christchurch earthquake who lobbied for a change to the Building Act and now has an amendment named after her.

There are also those focusing on topical issues for New Zealanders, like Brittany Teei’s financial literacy focused charity KidsCoin, Dr Julia Rucklidge’s study into alternative mental health treatments, and Dr Philippa Howden-Chapman’s campaigning for warmer housing.

Others are making a difference globally, like filmmaker Pietra Brettkelly, whose documentaries are lauded around the world, or artist Jacqui Kenny, who refuses to let her agoraphobia and anxiety impact her chance to travel.

Across six categories – Arts & Culture, Sports, Education, Community, Health & Science, and Business & Innovation – the finalists are examples of what can be accomplished through drive and determination.

Established in 2010, the NEXT Woman of the Year Awards shines a spotlight on those who are achieving in all aspects of their lives while making a remarkable contribution to others.

Each finalist is profiled in the October issue of NEXT magazine, on sale now.

The NEXT Woman of the Year winners will be chosen by a judging panel featuring NEXT editor Rachael Russell, The Project’s Kanoa Lloyd and Global Women CEO Miranda Burdon.

The winners will be announced at an awards event at the Cordis hotel in Auckland on October 11.

NEXT Woman of the Year 2018 Finalists:
Arts & Culture

Anne O’Brien, Auckland Writers Festival director

Pietra Brettkelly, filmmaker

Dawn Sanders, Shakespeare Globe Centre NZ founder

Jacqui Kenny, The Agoraphobic Traveller artist

Renee Liang, community arts activist
Business & Innovation

Erica Crawford, Loveblock Wines co-founder

Wendy Thompson, Socialites founder

Sharndre Kushor, Crimson education co-founder

Lillian Grace, Figure.NZ founder

Michelle Sharp, Kilmarnock Enterprises chief executive

Merenia Donne, Kotuku Foundation Assistance Animals Aotearoa founder

Verna McFelin, Pillars chief executive

Louise Allnutt, Foster Hope Charitable Trust founder

Dr Ann Brower, senior lecturer geography

Deborah Manning, KiwiHarvest founder

Dr Rachel Williamson, The Summer Learning Journey founder

Brittany Teei, KidsCoin founder

Ariana Paul, Squiggle co-founder

Rez Gardi, Empower Youth Trust founder

Dr Lucy Hone, resilience educator
Health & Science

Dr Jane Harding, professor of neonatology

Dr Julia Rucklidge, professor of clinical psychology

Dr Nicola Gaston, MacDiamond Institute co-director

Dr Philippa Howden-Chapman, professor of public health

Dr Malvindar Singh-Bains, research fellow

Sarah Goss, Black Ferns Sevens captain

Professor Sarah Leberman, sports researcher

Natalie Taylor, Tall Ferns co-captain

Sophie Devine, White Ferns player

Luisa Avaiki, NZ Rugby League Wellbeing and Women’s Development manager
The October issue of NEXT is on sale now.

Content Sourced from
Original url