Auckland women named for Warriors clash

Press Release – Auckland Rugby League

The Auckland women’s representative side has been named for Friday night’s historic match against the New Zealand Warriors’ women at Mount Smart Stadium (6.00pm kick-off).

It will be the first time in a decade that a full Auckland women’s side has come together, while the Warriors will field their newly-formed women’s side for the first very time, ahead of the NRL Women’s Premiership kicking off in September.

Included in the 21-strong Auckland squad are current Kiwi Ferns squad members Ma’atuleio Fotu-Moala, Metanoia Fotu-Moala (pictured in attached photo) and Kere Matua, while 10 of the players have come through the Auckland Vulcans system in recent years.

Six members of Manurewa’s Farrelly Photos Women’s Premiership winning side have made the final cut for the opening match of the two-game series against the Warriors.

The match will bring together the very best of Auckland’s female rugby league talent, with all but one of the Warriors’ squad members having come through Auckland Rugby League system.
Auckland squad: Aleasha Brider (Mt Albert), Amber-Paris Hall (Richmond), Awhina Marsh (Richmond), Billy-Jean Ale (Mt Albert), Cesca Luafalealo (Mt Albert), Chantelle Schofield (Mt Albert), Christyl Stowers (Manurewa), Iriana Huriwai-Susulu (Manurewa), Jhana Magele (Otahuhu), Jonsal Tautari (Manurewa), Kararaina Wira-Kohu (Manurewa), Katarina Allen (Mt Albert), Kaylen Ikitule (Manurewa), Kere Matua (Manurewa), Ma’atuleio Fotu-Moala (Otahuhu), Margarette Nena (Mt Albert), Mele Toki (Ponsonby), Metanoia Fotu-Moala (Otahuhu), Paige Irimana (Otahuhu), Ruth Vae (Richmond), Shannon Muru (Richmond).


Content Sourced from
Original url