ARL Media: May 19-20 Premiership previews

Press Release – Auckland Rugby League

ARL Media: May 19-20 Premiership previews
May 19-20 Premiership previews
May 18, 2018

Rd 7 SAS Fox Memorial Premiership preview

In a season where very little has gone right for the Marist Saints so far, this Saturday presents an opportunity to wrestle control of the Roope Rooster challenge trophy when they travel to take on Pt Chevalier in the Round 7 livestreamed match.

Stuck at the bottom of the SAS Fox Memorial Premiership ladder, Marist are without a win in their first six games, but came desperately close last week in a four-point loss to Northcote. The top-of-the-table Pirates meanwhile sit on a perfect record and have set a ferocious pace so far in 2018.

Coverage of the match starts at 2.00pm, with kick-off at 2.30pm.

Elsewhere, the Northcote Tigers face a huge game against the fourth-placed Howick Hornets, with a four-point gap already separating the Tigers from the play-off positions.

It’s a similar story for the Otahuhu Leopards, who were comfortably downed by Mt Albert last up. They host the Glenora Bears, who produced a 52-0 shutout of Richmond a week ago.

Mt Albert welcome Mangere East to Fowlds Park, while Richmond go in search of their first win of the season against Papakura.

Rd 7 SAS Fox Memorial Premiership fixtures – all kick-off times 2.30pm, Saturday May 19

Pt Chevalier v Marist at Walker Park – TEAM LISTSWATCH HERE

Otahuhu v Glenora at Bert Henham Park – TEAM LISTS

Northcote v Howick at Birkenhead War Memorial Park – TEAM LISTS

Mt Albert v Mangere East at Fowlds Park – TEAM LISTS

Richmond v Papakura at Grey Lynn Park – TEAM LISTS

Rd 5 Crown Lift Trucks Sharman Cup preview
Undefeated through the opening month of the competition, Premiership newcomers the Franklin Storm have been one 2018’s surprise packages, and will look to make it four wins in a row when they take on Pakuranga at Walker Park.

The match will serve as the week five livestreamed match, with coverage from noon and kick-off at the earlier time of 12.20pm

The round’s other major clash sees Manurewa host the Bay Roskill Vikings, with the Marlins desperate to reverse a sluggish start to the season, and the Vikings intent on continuing their unbeaten start to 2018.

The Northern Brothers maintained form with a gritty victory over Waitemata last week, and take on the high-flying Te Atatu Roosters this Saturday, while out south Papatoetoe and Manukau play host to Otara and Waitemata respectively.

Rd 5 Crown Lift Trucks Sharman Cup fixtures – all kick-off times 2.30pm, Saturday May 19 unless otherwise stated

Pakuranga v Franklin at Walker Park (12.20pm) – WATCH HERE

Ellerslie v Hibiscus Coast at Ellerslie Domain

Northern Brothers v Te Atatu at Freyberg Park

Papatoetoe v Otara at Kohuora Park

Manurewa v Bay Roskill at Mountfort Park

Manukau v Waitemata at Moyle Park

Ponsonby v Mt Wellington at Victoria Park

New Lynn BYE
Rd 5 Farrelly Photos Women’s competition (grading) preview
The last remaining qualification spot through to the Farrelly Photos Women’s Premiership is up for grabs in the final round of grading this Sunday.

Already confirmed for the top section are the Otahuhu Leopards and defending champions Manurewa, who sit at the top of the pile with undefeated records, while Te Atatu and Mt Albert have control of their own destiny, sitting third and fourth respectively.

Two points behind are the Manukau Magpies, who will need to defeat Richmond when they meet at Moyle Park, and rely on Te Atatu or Mt Albert suffering a defeat big enough to reverse any remaining points differential percentage advantage, if they are to steal a top-four spot.

Te Atatu face newcomers Point Chevalier-Waitemata, while Mt Albert travel to take on Otahuhu.

In other games, Manurewa meet Mt Wellington, who secured a hard-fought draw with Mangere East last week, while Ponsonby play host to Mangere East in central Auckland.

At the conclusion of final grading round, teams will be split into top four (Premiership) bottom six (Pennant) sections.

All teams will take a two-week break following this weekend, to accommodate the upcoming NZRL National Women’s Tournament, with the Farrelly Photos Women’s competitions resuming on the weekend of June 9.

Rd 5 Farrelly Photos Women’s competition fixtures – all kick-off times 2.30pm, Sunday, May 20 unless otherwise stated

Manurewa v Mt Wellington at Mountfort Park (2.00pm)

Ponsonby v Mangere East at Victoria Park (2.00pm)

Point Chevalier-Waitemata v Te Atatu at Walker Park (2.00pm)

Otahuhu v Mt Albert at Bert Henham Park

Manukau v Richmond at Moyle Park


Content Sourced from
Original url