Prime Minister’s Science Prizes announced

Press Release – New Zealand Government

Hon Dr Megan Woods, Minister of Research, Science and Innovation:

Research, Science and Innovation Minister Megan Woods today announced the winners of the Prime Minister’s Science Prizes – New Zealand’s most valuable and prestigious awards for scientists.

“The Prime Minister’s Science Prizes are a chance to celebrate the achievements of some of New Zealand’s top scientists, and draw attention to the impact that science has in our society and all our lives,” says Dr Woods.

“The awards were introduced to raise the profile and prestige of science careers, and attract more young people into STEM subjects.

“All the recipients here today are role models who play a part in inspiring others to become involved with science. I want to congratulate all of the award winners on their commitment to promoting science.

“As with previous winners, those receiving awards today will go on to become excellent ambassadors for science here in New Zealand and overseas,” says Megan Woods.

The awards presented by Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern at Parliament today are:
• Prime Minister’s Science Prize: $500,000 – awarded to Plant & Food Research (team entry, led by Chief Operating Officer Dr Bruce Campbell)
• Prime Minister’s MacDiarmid Emerging Scientist Prize: $200,000 – awarded to Dr Carla Meledandri, University of Otago
• Prime Minister’s Science Teacher Prize: $150,000 – awarded to Sarah Johns, Nelson College for Girls
• Prime Minister’s Science Media Communication Prize: $100,000 – awarded to Damian Christie, SciFilms
• Prime Minister’s Future Scientist Prize: $50,000 – awarded to Jonathan Chan, Auckland Boys’ Grammar School.

“I would again like to congratulate the recipients and their families, supporters, colleagues and friends who have played a part in their success,” says Dr Woods.

To find out more about the Prime Minister’s Science Prizes visit

Content Sourced from
Original url