Proudly co-operative, Fonterra wins award

Press Release – Cooperative Business New Zealand.

11 August 2017

Proudly co-operative, Fonterra wins award

New Zealand’s biggest co-operative, Fonterra has been recognised by its peers at a celebration of the people-centred, values-based co-operative business model.

Fonterra Co-operative Group, to give the dairy giant its full title, won the Co-operative Business of the Year category – one of eight awards presented at Cooperative Business New Zealand’s Annual Awards Dinner, held last night (August 10th) at Auckland’s Eden Park.

A stunning financial turnaround, generous social responsibility programmes and a high-profile television campaign proudly proclaiming its Kiwi farmer-owned, co-operative status were key factors in winning the award.

Fonterra Shareholders’ Council Chair Duncan Coull, pictured, who collected the award, says farmers should take real pride in this special recognition for their co-op.

“Our farmer shareholders set themselves high standards, and it’s their daily hard work and commitment that drives the success of the co-op. I also want to recognise the energy and contribution of our staff in helping build a co-op that returns such value to shareholders, local communities and the New Zealand economy.”

Cooperative Business New Zealand represents the growing business sector of co-operatives, mutuals and societies which employ more than 48,000 Kiwis and generates over NZ$43 billion a year in revenues for the NZ economy. That’s almost 20% of this country’s GDP while almost one-in-three Kiwis is currently served by a co-operative, mutual or society as a member.

Chair Jonathan Lee says this year’s nominees and recipients were exceptional and reflected the best of co-operative values. The 2017 awards featured a new category – Co-operation Amongst Co-operatives.

The 2017 Cooperative Business New Zealand Award Winners are:
Co-operative Business of the Year – Fonterra Co-operative Group
Co-operative Leader of the Year – Neil Cowie, CEO Mitre 10
Co-operation Amongst Co-operatives – Oliver O’Neill, CFO Ruralco
Outstanding Co-operative Contribution – Brian Cameron, co-operative pioneer.


Content Sourced from
Original url