Waitemata ePrescribing team wins national award

Press Release – Waitemata District Health Board

A Waitemata District Health Board electronic prescribing and administration [ePA] initiative has won the Hospital Pharmacy Performer of the Year at the 2017 Pharmacy Awards.

The awards dinner was held last week and Clinical Pharmacist Joanne Rogers accepted the prize on behalf of the Waitemata DHB and the Health Quality & Safety Commission. Waitemata DHB and the Health Quality & Safety Commission developed the Transfer Medication Chart to help staff switching from a paper prescribing system to an electronic process during the implementation of ePA.

ePA allows medication to be prescribed by doctors at the stroke of a computer or ipad key and enables administration to be recorded electronically. It cuts paper from the equation and minimises the risk of human error.

The chart ensured a smooth and quick transition – minimising the risk of transcription mistakes.

This is the third time in a row that Waitemata DHB has won the category at the annual ceremony, with previous wins in 2016, 2015, as well as 2013.

Waitemata DHB Chief Executive Dr Dale Bramley says the support of the Health Quality & Safety Commissionwas integral to the implementation of the ePAinitiative into such a large and busy hospital late last year.

“The ePrescribing initiative has allowed us to tailor the Health Quality & Safety Commission’s National Medication Chart to result in improved safety outcomes for patients and staff.”


Content Sourced from scoop.co.nz
Original url