Shortlist for New Zealander of the Year 2016

Press Release – BlacklandPR

Shortlist for New Zealander of the Year 2016

The New Zealander of the Year 2016 Awards Office is pleased to announce the 10 people being considered for the 2016 Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year award.

They are:

• Dame Margaret Bazley: Public policy and administration (Christchurch)
• Professor Michael Berridge: Cellular biology and cancer researcher (Wellington)
• Mai Chen: Lawyer (Auckland)
• Rob Fenwick: Environmentalist and business leader (Waiheke Island)
• Dick Frizzell: Artist, art historian and social commentator (Hawke’s Bay)
• Richie McCaw: Former All Blacks rugby captain (Christchurch)
• Dame Suzie Moncrieff: Artist and business leader (Golden Bay)
• Louise Nicholas: Victims’ rights advocate (Rotorua)
• Dr Jim Salinger: Climate scientist (Auckland)
• Dr Ranginui Walker: Academic, writer, educator and cultural commentator (Auckland)

Please refer attachment for biographies on each of the 10 candidates shortlisted for 2016 New Zealander of the Year.

Comment from Chief Judge Cameron Bennett

Each nominee has achieved great things, in New Zealand and, indeed, on the world stage. They’ve shown the courage, determination and tenacity – the sheer grit – that defines what it is to be a New Zealander and have achieved extraordinary things in a uniquely Kiwi way.

All are unique and special New Zealanders of whom we can be very proud.


The annual New Zealander of the Year awards are in their seventh year. They celebrate people who use their passion for New Zealand to make our country a better place. They are open to all New Zealanders to honour extraordinary Kiwis whose selflessness, creativity, and vision make us proud to call New Zealand home.

More than 330 nominations were received for the 2016 Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year.

In January, the judging panel – comprising representatives of all the awards patrons, presenters, sponsors, community leaders and independent experts – will announce the final shortlist of the three Kiwis being considered for the 2016 Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year title

The winner will be announced at the New Zealander of the Year Gala Awards evening in Auckland on 17 February, 2016.

Previous winners of the New Zealander of the Year Award are: Sir Stephen Tindall (2015), Dr Lance O’Sullivan (2014), Dame Anne Salmond (2013), Sir Richard Taylor (2012), Sir Paul Callaghan (2011) and Sir Ray Avery (2010).

Other categories

The New Zealander of the Year Awards 2016 will also honour New Zealanders who have performed with distinction in five award categories. The semifinalists for these categories are:

University of Auckland Young New Zealander of the Year

• Scott Barrington (Christchurch)
• Kendall Flutey (Wellington)
• Sean Kelly (Taranaki)
• Lydia Ko (Auckland)
• Jade Leung (Auckland)
• Mataoria Lyndon (Auckland)
• Sarah McLean (Auckland)
• Scottie Reeve (Wellington)
• Malvindar Singh-Bains (Auckland)
• Lional Taito-Matamua (Lower Hutt)

Metlifecare Senior New Zealander of the Year

• Kristine Bartlett (Lower Hutt)
• Geoff Whitcher (Auckland)
• Iris Cheng (Auckland)
• Chris Dessa (Auckland)
• Pratima Devi Nand (Auckland)
• Gavin Faull (Taranaki)
• Avis Leeson (Hamilton)
• Joan-Mary Loncroft (Auckland)
• Robert McGowan (Tauranga)
• John Russell (Lower Hutt)

Mitre 10 New Zealand Community of the Year

• Bellyful (Pukekohe)
• Big Brothers Big Sisters NZ (Wellington)
• Community Fruit Harvest (Auckland)
• Greening the Rubble (Christchurch)
• Just Zilch (Palmerston North)
• Project Butterfly (Nelson)
• South Alive (Invercargill)
• Supergrans (national)
• Te Whangai Trust (Pokeno)
• ZEAL (Auckland)

Sanitarium New Zealand Innovator of the Year

• Paul Cameron, Booktrack (Auckland)
• Lillian Grace, Figure NZ (Auckland)
• KIWA Digital (Wellington)
• John Hyndman and Ivan Batistich, HYVAN Anaesthesia (Kaiapoi)
• Spidertracks (Auckland)
• Scott Bradley, VMOB (Auckland)
• Photonic Innovations (Dunedin)
• Phil Butler and Anthony Butler, MARS bio-imaging team (Christchurch)
• Peter Johnson, Water Outlook Ltd (Auckland)
• Mark Finch and Thor Besier, I Measure U (Auckland)

Kiwibank New Zealand Local Hero of the Year

• Peter Coates (Whangarei)
• Selwyn Cook (Hamilton)
• Rebecca Culver (Palmerston North)
• Lew Findlay (Palmerston North)
• Graeme Gale (Mosgiel)
• Robin Hape (Hawke’s Bay)
• Timothy Marshall (Gisborne)
• Shirley Sparks (Bay of Plenty)
• Derek Tuck (Palmerston North)
• Karen Watson (Christchurch)

More information on the 2016 Kiwibank New Zealander of the Awards and the semifinalists for each category is at


Content Sourced from
Original url