Appointments to the Film and Literature Board of Review

Press Release – New Zealand Government

Hon Peter Dunne
Minister of Internal Affairs

30 November 2015

Appointments to the Film and Literature Board of Review

Internal Affairs Minister Peter Dunne has announced seven appointments to the Film and Literature Board of Review, commencing from 1 January 2016.

The Board is established under section 91 of the Films, Videos and Publications Classification Act 1993 (the Act) as a statutory appeal body to review classification decisions of the Office of Film and Literature Classification.

“The new members of the Board, along with the current members Kate Davenport QC,
Dr Gareth Schott and Sandy Gill will provide a strong mix of skills and experience to help the Board carry out its functions, while representing a cross-section of society.”

Current member Kate Davenport of Auckland has been appointed as the President of the Board for the remainder of her term, ending on 13 April 2017.

Ms Davenport has been a Barrister and Solicitor of the High Court of New Zealand since 1983 and was appointed Queens Counsel in May 2013. She is the Chair of the National Ethics Committee Assisted Reproductive Technology and Deputy Chair of the Real Estate Agents Disciplinary Tribunal.

Nigel Dunlop of Auckland has been appointed as the Deputy President of the Board for a three-year term.

Mr Dunlop is a Barrister/Mediator and has practised family law for the past 30 years. He is Chair of both the Mental Health Review Tribunal and a Real Estates Agents Authority Complaints Assessment Committee, and a member of the Retirement Villages Adjudication Panel.

Gillian Ferguson, Jeff Sissons, Janet Peters and Drs Tom Brown and Waikaremoana Waitoki have been appointed as members of the Board for three-year terms.

Ms Ferguson of Dunedin is a lawyer with experience in human rights and policy development, particularly around women’s issues. She is actively involved in the disability sector as a member of The Family Network, Robbie White Charitable Trust and CCS Disability Action.

Mr Sissons of Wellington is the General Counsel for the New Zealand Council of Trade Unions. He is a member on a number of boards including the Accident Compensation Corporation Advocates Representatives Group and the Good Faith Code Committee.

Ms Peters of Mount Maunganui is a registered psychologist and a member of the Bay of Plenty District Health Board Ethics committee.

Dr Brown of Wellington is a former Bishop of the Anglican Diocese of Wellington and was a Crown Facilitator at the Office of Treaty Settlements.

Dr Waitoki of Hamilton is of Ngāti Hako descent and is a senior research officer and post-doctoral researcher at the University of Waikato and is an experienced clinical psychologist. She was a Deputy Chair of the New Zealand Psychologists’ Board and provides cultural supervision and advice on ethics to health professionals.

“I would like to thank the outgoing members, Dr Don Mathieson, Andrew Caisley, Eileen Swan, Clare O’Leary, Dr Laurence Simmons and Michael Stephens for their dedication and contribution to the Board during their terms.”


Content Sourced from
Original url