Appointments to the New Zealand Film Commission

Press Release – New Zealand Government

Hon Maggie Barry
Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage

31 July 2015
Appointments to the New Zealand Film Commission

Dame Patsy Reddy has been reappointed as Chair of the New Zealand Film Commission, Arts, Culture and Heritage Minister Maggie Barry announced today.

Charles Finny has also been reappointed as a member of the Commission.

Both of Wellington, Dame Patsy and Mr Finny are joined by three new appointments; Ross McRobie of Wanaka, Ian Taylor of Dunedin and Jane Hastings of Auckland.

“These are exciting times for the film industry with many emerging growth opportunities for the already highly successful sector to take advantage of,” Ms Barry says.

“I am pleased to welcome the three new members to the NZFC, while having both Dame Patsy and Charles Finny on-board again ensures continuity.”

Ross McRobie has a strong background in radio, business management and marketing. He was general manager of The Radio Network in Christchurch and an executive member of the Canterbury Medical Research Foundation. He is currently the chair of the Otago Community Trust.

Ian Taylor is the managing director of Taylormade Media and Animation Research (ARL), a company which has established Dunedin as one of the world centres in the field of computer graphics. Mr Taylor was made a Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit in 2012.

Both Mr McRobie and Mr Taylor have also been appointed to the Broadcasting Commission, NZ On Air.

Jane Hastings is the chief executive of NZME and was previously a chief executive of The Radio Network. She has also held a number of executive roles in Asia and New Zealand.

“I want to thank outgoing members Rhiannon McKinnon and Witi Ihimaera, who have both served two terms, and Andrew Cornwell, who has served three terms, for their valuable contribution over the years to the commission,” Ms Barry says.


Content Sourced from
Original url