Ethnic honours recipients congratulated

Press Release – New Zealand Government

Ethnic honours recipients congratulated
Ethnic Peoples Minister Peseta Sam Lotu-Iiga congratulates the recipients of New Year’s Honours who have served their ethnic communities.

“These outstanding people have worked tirelessly to support their respective communities,” says Mr Lotu-Iiga. “Their efforts help ensure that people of diverse cultures maintain their own heritage while joining the wider New Zealand community.”

This year’s recipients include:

Dr Sai Woh Wong, Auckland, for services to mental health and the Chinese community.

Simon Deng Li, Auckland, for services to New Zealand-China relations and the arts.

Miriam Alves Batucan, Auckland, for services to the Filipino community.
Oscar Pioquinto Batucan, JP, Auckland, for services to the Filipino community.
Helena Wanda Ellis, Auckland, for services to the Polish community.
Dr Mustafa Mohammed Farouk, Hamilton, for services to the Muslim community.
Prabodh Kumar Mishra, JP, Lower Hutt, for services to the community.
Raman Ranchhod, JP, Auckland, for services to the Indian community.
Klara Marta Szentirmay, Wellington, for services to the Hungarian community.
Hai Tong Too, JP, Napier, for services to the Chinese community.

“Our ethnic population is a young one. I hope the success of the honours recipients will encourage the younger generation of ethnic people to give back to their communities,” says Mr Lotu-Iiga.

More than half of ethnic New Zealanders are aged under 24 compared with 35% of the general population. One in four New Zealanders were born overseas.


Content Sourced from
Original url