Four Auckland schools competing in netball championships in October

Press Release – Netball NZ
16 Secondary school teams including four from Auckland have earned the right to compete at the 2011 New Zealand Secondary Schools Netball Championships at Napier’s Pettigrew Arena from the 11th-14th October.

The New Zealand Secondary School Netball Championships previously included just 12 teams (four from each of the three regions) but has now been extended to 16 teams, including six teams from the Upper North Island, five teams from the Lower North Island and five from the South Island.

Netball New Zealand High Performance Director Tracey Fear is excited about the prospect of more school aged Netballers competing at the next level.

“NNZ has the highest concentration of player numbers in the Secondary School bracket,” Fear says, ” we want to reflect this by increasing the number of teams who can compete in the New Zealand Secondary Schools Netball Championships.”

“With more teams competing, the rivalries run deeper and more players have the opportunity to show national selectors what they are capable of, she said.”

School pride has always played its part in New Zealand’s sporting culture and the NZ Secondary School Netball Championships will reveal the passion that makes these teams the best school aged netballers in the country.

Hamilton Girl’s High School from Waikato and Waimea College from Nelson will experience playing at the New Zealand Secondary Schools Netball Championships for the first time in 2011.

The 16 schools competing to be the New Zealand Secondary School Netball Champions are:
Upper North Island Qualifiers
1. Mount Albert Grammar (2010 NZSS Champions)
2. Auckland Girls Grammar (2010 NZSS Runners-Up)
3. Cambridge High School
4. Epsom Girls Grammar
5. Hamilton Girls (First Time Qualifiers)
6. St Kentigern’s College

Lower North Island Qualifiers
1. Tu Toa (2009 NZSS Champions)
2. Palmerston North Girls High School
3. Wellington Girl’s High School
4. St Mary’s Wellington
5. Sacred Heart New Plymouth
South Island Qualifiers
1. Craighead Diocesan
2. Rangi Ruru Girl’s College
3. Columba College
4. St Margaret’s College (Last qualification 1999)
5. Waimea College (First Time Qualifiers)


Content Sourced from
Original url